The Office of Cannabis Management (OCM) is charged with issuing licenses for businesses to participate in New York’s adult-use, medical, and cannabinoid hemp industries. The OCM is developing regulations which will outline how a person or business can apply for and receive a license in the new adult-use cannabis industry.
The OCM will promote social and economic equity applicants who have been harmed by the prohibition of cannabis for adult-use licenses, establishing a goal of awarding 50% of licenses to social and economic equity applicants. Please continue to monitor the website for updates about licensing and more information about the social and economic equity program.
Adult-Use Conditional Cultivator License
On February 22, 2022, Governor Kathy Hochul signed into law S.8084-A/A.9283-A, creating a new Adult-Use Conditional Cultivator license, authorizing eligible hemp growers to apply for a license to grow cannabis containing over 0.3% THC for the upcoming adult-use market. To be eligible to apply, the hemp grower must have been authorized to grow hemp under the Department of Agriculture and Markets Industrial Hemp Research Pilot Program and meet certain other requirements.
The application window for the Adult-Use Conditional Cultivator License approved by the Cannabis Control Board is March 15, 2022 – June 30, 2022. Applicants must create a profile at New York Business Express (NYBE) and submit an application on the NYBE Website.
Applicants must also pay a non-refundable $2,000 Application and Licensing Fee to complete their application submission. Applicants are strongly encouraged to read program guidance before applying and submitting payment. Please find Adult-Use Conditional Cultivator application mock-ups, application Terms and Conditions, and program Guidance at the links below.
Adult-Use Conditional Processor License
On February 22, 2022, Governor Kathy Hochul signed into law S.8084-A/A.9283-A, creating an adult-use conditional processor license. This license will allow businesses who are already licensed to process cannabinoid hemp in the Cannabinoid Hemp Program to apply for a license to process adult-use cannabis products in the Adult-Use Program. This application opportunity is only available to active cannabinoid hemp processor license-holders who applied for their license before January 1, 2022.
Pursuant to the Cannabis Law, adult-use conditional processor licensees will be permitted to process cannabis products containing over 0.3% THC for the Adult-Use Cannabis Program. The license will also be authorized for the distribution of cannabis products to duly licensed adult-use retail dispensaries until June 1, 2023. After June 1, 2023, conditional processors seeking to distribute cannabis products, will be required to apply for a separate distributor license to engage in this activity.
On June 23, 2022, the Cannabis Control Board (Board) approved the application and opening of the application window for Conditional Processors beginning June 28, 2022 and remaining open until August 31, 2022. Please be aware that the Office of Cannabis Management (Office) is diligently working on the roll-out of additional license opportunities for the broader Adult-Use Program and will be sharing more information soon.
Applicants must also pay a non-refundable $2,000 Application and Licensing Fee to complete their application submission. Applicants are strongly encouraged to read program guidance before applying and submitting payment. Please find Adult-Use Conditional Processor application mock-ups, application Terms and Conditions, and program Guidance at the links below.